Primary needed for seven candidates filed for city council

Three seats are up for the Smithfield City Council. Michael Oliverson and Brent Buttars have both refiled for election. Jeffrey Barnes, Brooks Hansen, Paul Prendergast, Sara Scott and Dennis Watkins have also filed. With seven candidates a primary will be held on September 13.

With the primary the top six candidates will move on to the full election on November 8. If one of the candidates withdraws in the next 30 days a primary won’t be required.